I am a lousy storyteller. I tend to get to the middle of a story and forget where I am going. I was keenly aware of this when I lived with a Mexican family in Monterrey and attempted to tell elaborate stories in Spanish. What was difficult in my native tongue was 100 times more so in my second language.

I have been passively following the ds106 assignments and hash tags for the past couple of weeks in my efforts to better my storytelling skills. After reading Dean Shareski’s post tonight, I decided to try this one where you create a story from song titles and even sign it with a song title. I scanned through my music in iTunes and dumped the songs that I thought would fit into a story into a playlist. Then I culled through that playlist, saw that I had a theme going and pulled the story below together. I invite you to try it yourself!